Winter Spring Meeting, January 17th, 2009

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Lisa Nesson following lunch at the winter WEPA seminar held at the Courtyard by Marriott in Madison, WI. Dr. Nesson thanked Kim Pokorny for her WVMA update and Megan Senatori on her presentation on informed consent. Our featured speaker, Dr. Sue McDonnell was thanked for her presentations on equine behavioral issues.

Minutes form the September 19, 2008 meeting were read and approved by Dr. Jim Schwisow and seconded by Dr. Larry Mahr.

Treasurer’s report was read and approved by Dr. Don Skaife and seconded by Dr. Lisa Borzynski.

WEPA Foundation report was presented by Dr. Larry Mahr. Two $500.00 scholarships were awarded to veterinary students to attend the AAEP convention. There were five applicants. The recipients were Cassie Torhorst from the class of 2010 and Morgan Wiseley from the class of 2010. Morgan reported on her experience of attending the AAEP convention and thanked WEPA for the scholarship. The foundation is interested in setting up the vendors for the fall meeting. Anyone wishing to donate to the foundation could contact one of the committee members.

Old Business:

  1. The continuing education committee consists of Drs. Lisa Borzynski, Jennifer Thompson, and Jean Elmer. The purpose of the committee is to plan CE seminars allowing officers time to do other work of the WEPA organization. Suggestions for future seminars included ophthalmology, muscle disease, reproduction, and lameness. Location suggestions for the fall meeting/wet lab combo included Jefferson County Fairgrounds, Arlington Research Station, or local clinics. The date of Friday, October 2nd has been set at Jefferson for the 2009 meeting.

New Business:

  1. Dr Robert Ehlenfeldt gave a short presentation regarding the current situation of CEM in the state.
  2. WEPA website update ( ) A questionnaire was handed out for members to fill out to update information and find out what other information we would like to see included on the website. These can be returned to Cheryl Kopacz.
  3. Delegate at Large position was opened for nominations and election. Dr. Mary Krempaski of Mayville Animal Clinic was nominated and selected.
  4. WEPA Foundation board member nominees were Dr. Jim Schwisow, who declined, and Dr Dean Peterson. Nomination of Dr. Peterson was accepted and elected.
Officers for 2009:
Past President: Dr Lisa Nesson
2009 President: Dr. Jean Elmer
Vice President: Dr. Tani Ketter
Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. Jim Schmidt
Delegate At Large: Dr. Mary Krempasky

Business meeting was adjourned by a motion from Dr Lisa Borzynski and seconded by Dr. Jim Schwisow.

Respectfully submitted,
Tani Ketter D.V.M.